Select Page

Meeting 21st Century Maritime Challenges in the U.S. Arctic

Unique Opportunities & Threats in the U.S. Arctic – Panel




Lieutenant Governor of Alaska

Kevin Meyer was born and raised in Beatrice, Nebraska, a small farming community in rural Nebraska.  He attended the University of Nebraska, earning a Bachelor of Science degree.  His graduate work was completed at the University of New Mexico, where he earned a master’s degree in Public Administration.  He met his wife, Marty, while attending school in Albuquerque and they were married in 1983. In 1981, Kevin’s employer, Phillips offered him the opportunity and adventure of a lifetime to work in Anchorage. Kevin and Marty have called Alaska home for the past thirty-six years, and have raised their two daughters, Karly and Valentina, there.

Kevin retired from ConocoPhillips when elected as Lt. Governor in 2018. He was employed by ConocoPhillips/ARCO for 39 years and while working there as a Supply Chain Coordinator, he also earned a master’s degree in Business Administration from Alaska Pacific University.

Kevin served eight years on the Anchorage Assembly, eight years in State House of Representatives, and ten years in the Alaska State Senate.  He has held several key leadership positions in the legislature, including Co-Chair of the House and Senate Finance Committees, Senate Majority Leader, and Senate Rules Chairman.  He was chosen by his Senate colleagues to serve as Senate President in 2015-2016.

As the Lieutenant Governor of Alaska, Kevin has been selected to numerous board and committee positions including; National Lt. Governors Association (NLGA) West Region-at-Large Member and Policy Resolution Committee, National Association of Secretaries of State (NASS) Cybersecurity Committee, Elections Committee, and International Relations Committee, and Pacific Northwest Economic Region (PNWER) Executive Committee.  He is a board member for the Alaska Travel Industry Association (ATIA Ex-Officio Board Member), and the Alaska Workforce Investment Board (AWIB).  He is a member of Aerospace States Association (ASA), Co-Chair of the Alaska State Committee for Research (SCoR), as well as the designated Chair of the Alaska Historical Commission (AHC).

Contact Us

Stay Up to Date with the Latest, if you have questions please email us. 

15 + 3 =